Week 2

Last week Sunday finished off with a good swim (2050m plus kick). I was definitely feeling the effects of the bike and run from earlier in the day. I think I should have eaten a bit more, or maybe more carbs, between the run and swim. I have 19 more weeks to figure this out…

Monday – I tried to get out of playing soccer, but the team had no subs. I borrowed an MCL brace. The brace was awesome – no wiggle at all in my knee and no pain (probably because it was so tight I couldn’t feel anything).

Tuesday – 1:00 bike with 6 x 20 s power intervals (as per training plan). I upped the intervals to 30s since I’ve been doing 1 min intervals in the off-season. The trainer ride went well – I was happy with my cadence and my knee was fine.

Wednesday – It had snowed at least 10-15cm overnight, but the 7am run club still went out. Run club attendance was only me. The first ~1km had been plowed, but after that I was running in ankle deep snow. To say it was a slog is an understatement. I got the 35 min done, and my attempts at doing fartleks went well the first few (where the path was plowed) but after that, just keeping going despite the snow was the main focus.

Swim club had a substitute coach. We did a bunch of kick sets. Not being to do whip kick meant for a lot of flutter kick. I used to wimp out of doing a lot of flutter kick – when it’s the only kick I can do, it was amazing how many meters I can do as flutter kick. The Garmin says I did 2400m, but it would have been at least 200+ m more with all the kick.

Thursday – 32 min run (a bit short of planned time). I actually managed to get out and run at lunch time. It was a bit chilly out, but bright and sunny. I wished I had my sunglasses for the run. The training plan had called for 40 min, but the conditions were better than expected (so the run was short on time for the distance). I also had a lost sock issue as I went to start the run. I spent at least 5 extra minutes in the building before I got out, so I couldn’t push my lunch time limit.

After work I did 1:15 on the trainer. The ride took a bit to get into, so I worked on cadence over power to keep from over-exerting. As a treat, I ordered take out pizza, for pick-up right after I finished. Probably the best idea I’ve had in a long time.

Friday – I got home from work at a decent time and did my 1:00 bike ride. I was tempted to do the trainer ride in the morning to keep from doing it late evening. But I forced myself to leave “early” from work to get my ride done. I did a series of 5 min intervals – easy/medium/hard on repeat. The easy was great for spinning the legs out, and it got a bit easier after the first 20 min.

Saturday – 3300m. Coach Ben was back from his trip and challenging us was his goal. Goal succeeded. After swimming, the run distance was 12 km. There was 5 of us doing 12 km, so it was a good group to chat with. The pace was a bit fast for some stretches, so I didn’t chat all that much – but I was keeping up with the pace. Thankfully, B kept reminding people that the pace was “too fast” and we would cool it back to 6:20-6:30/km. I guess this is what I should expect when I’m running with people that have run the Boston Marathon multiple times. In all, 1:20 was spent on the run.

I also learned that the nickname for Muskoka is Beauty and the Beast. It is the beauty of nature all around on the course, but the course is a beast. I’ll just have to take it one hill at a time.

Sunday – The plan called for 1:00 bike and 20 min run as a brick. I had to deal with a possible natural gas issue (fingers crossed there is no leak), so I managed to get the 1:00 bike in, but not the 20 min run. But yesterday’s run was 1:20 while the training plan only called for 45 min, so I was 35 min to good on run time.

 

Leave a Reply

